Protea 15-man squad for the Cricket Word Cup

The Protea 15-man squad was named on Wednesday for the Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand next month.

Surprisingly Quinton de Kok was also included despite being injured in last month’s first test against West Indies.  He was initially ruled out of action for three month, thus raising questions about his replacement especially as wicketkeeper.

Another surprising inclusion is JP Duminy who has had persistent knee problems. He missed the three three-test series against West Indies as a result.  However he was named in the T20 team that will be playing against West Indies next week.

Tournament rules do allow the replacement of injured players during the World Cup.  Therefore, South African selectors have identified a group of standby players in the event of injury replacements being required. However, the selectors opted to keep these players unnamed for the time being.

The squad is as follows:

AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla (vice captain), Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Rilee Rossouw and Dale Steyn.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply