Ajax Cape Town win MTN8 Cup and make history.

Ajax Cape Town win MTN8 Cup and make history.

In front of a sold out Nelson Mandela Stadium, Ajax Cape Town delivered one of the biggest upsets in PSL history. Not only that,  but as Roger De Sa and his charges out-played and out-classed a star studded Kaizer Chiefs outfit to secure their first Top 8 title in the club’s history, South Africa bore witness to a few other historic facts that many people may not be aware of.

So here goes.

Firstly, when the Amakhosi took the field, they became the first Kaizer Chiefs team to try and defend a Top 8 title in 23 years. The last time Kaiser Chiefs FC defended a Top 8 title was way back in 1992, one year before Steve Komphela joined the Glamour Boys from Free State Stars FC.

Roger De Sa on the other hand played his seventh cup final in three years. His second cup final in four months, and this time around, he was seventh time lucky.

The third historic fact would be Stephen Mbuyiselo Komphela; when he took the field, he became the first South African born coach to lead Kaizer Chiefs FC to a Top 8 final in 33 years. This after Joseph Sethlodi did it last in 1982.

When the Daniel Bennett blew the whistle to end the match, Ajax Cape Town winger Franklin Cale’s name was added on an exclusive list of players who have a full set of medals from every competition there is to win in South Africa. He won the FA Cup version of the PSL when it was still called the ABSA Cup with Ajax Cape Town, then the PSL Championship with Mamelodi Sundowns FC, then the Telkom Cup with SuperSport United FC and finally the Top 8. This list includes names like Dane Klate, Sphiwe Tshabalala, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Itumeleng Khune.

Oh Teko Modise and a whole lot of Orlando Pirates FC players just needs the Telkom Cup to put their names on the list too (just by the way).

Finally, Ajax Cape Town’s win means that Orlando Pirates FC remain the only club to have managed to win and defend the MTN Top 8 in the PSL era.

By |2015-09-20T03:56:41+02:00September 19th, 2015|Football, Sports|Comments Off on Ajax Cape Town win MTN8 Cup and make history.