van Niekerk’s dream night at the SA Sport Awards

van Niekerk’s dream night at the SA Sport Awards

The night of glitz and glamour was capped off with track and field stars raking in the awards on Sunday in Bloemfontein, as Wayde van Niekerk led the way at the South African Sport Awards hosted by the Minister of Sports and Recreation Fikile Mbalula.

As the biggest winner Van Niekerk was awarded Sports Star of the Year, People’s Choice, which was determined by public vote, and Sportsman of the Year, after a spectacular season which included his epoch-making 400m victory from lane eight in a world record 43.03 second at the Rio Olympic Games.

“These awards again prove how successful our athletes were this year, and we are pleased they have been acknowledged in this way,” said Athletics South Africa President Aleck Skhosana.

“Congratulations to all the winners and nominees for being recognised, and we wish them all well for the 2017 season.  “We are now praying and wishing Wayde well in contesting the 2016 IAAF Athlete of the Year crown, which will be announced on 3 December (Saturday) in Monaco. A win for him there will complete a good year for ASA on the international stage.”

Here is the list of winners, by award:

Sport Star of the Year

Wayde van Niekerk

Sportswoman of the Year

Caster Semenya

Sportsman of the Year

Wayde van Niekerk

People’s Choice Award

Wayde van Niekerk

Team of the Year

Mamelodi Sundowns

Coach of the Year

Anna Botha

Newcomer of the Year Award

Ntando Mahlangu

Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability

Ilse Hayes

Sportsman of the Year with Disability

Charl du Toit

Photographer of the Year

Sydney Mahlangu

Journalist of the Year

Thabiso Sithole

School Team of the Year

St Benedict’s – Rowing

Recreation Body of the Year

Egoli Squash

Indigenous Games Team of the Year

North West Khokho

By |2016-11-28T18:26:27+02:00November 28th, 2016|Sports|Comments Off on van Niekerk’s dream night at the SA Sport Awards