Cape Town City are the MTN 8 champions

Cape Town City are the MTN 8 champions

Congratulations to Cape Town City for winning MTN 8, thus becoming the third Cape Town club to win the top 8 since 1972. After Ajax CT in 2015 and Santos in 2002.  This makes Bennie Mcarthy the first PSL player to win the MTN 8 as a player and as a coach.

However in the second chapter of my book South African football from the eye of the beholder. I conducted a comparative study of past Top 8 results and log table standing from the preceding years.

In that statistical test, the findings show that a club that finishes below top 5 in the previous season has a one in twenty-two probability of winning the top 8 in the season there after.  This has in fact been the case since the beginning of the PSL era, bar one year where the 2008 team of Kaizer Chiefs went on to win the Top 8 after finishing 6th the previous year.

So while people were relishing the probability of the first ever non-Johannesburg club defending the MTN 8, which has never happened in the Top 8 since 1972.

For some of us, devoted students of our beloved PSL, the writing was on the wall when Supersport United who finished 7th the season before; managed to get to the final.

I say this tongue in cheek, off course. SupeSport United are 2017 CAF Confederation Cup continental finalists. So that should say something about their strength as a team. No wonder they were able to take this to penalties.



By |2018-11-01T20:10:57+02:00November 1st, 2018|Sports|Comments Off on Cape Town City are the MTN 8 champions