NWU Pukke beat UFS Kovsies by 55 runs


NWU Pukke maintain their unbeaten run in Varsity Cricket with a 55 runs win over UFS Kovsies.

The men from Potch impressed with a strong batting and bowling performance, when they dominated a winless Kovsies outfit earlier today.

Wihan Lubbe started off with 39 runs for the Pukke in their first five overs despite Kagiso Rapulana’s second over exit for just two runs.  Lubbe was bowled in the sixth over by Keagan Rafferty.

Wimpie Viljoen was gone for 15 in the eighth over after the Pukke run rate slowing down leaving them at  76/3 after the tenth over.

The falling Pukke wickets did not hamper their continued scoring with Kruger scoring 50 before he was bowled by Van Dyk. Pukke lost another three wickets, but a 23 from 16 balls from Henning du Plooy meant they posted a competitive 182/9.

Kovsies got off to a slow start in their reply, with a run-rate of a run a ball in the first three overs. And captain Mathys Bruwer’s wicket for two in the fourth over and Andries Gous losing his wicket to Armandt Erasmus leaving the UFS outfit 29/2 after five overs.

Corne Dry and Leus du Plooy put up a valiant effort when they pushed up the total to 110, until Du Plooy was caught behind from Bjorn Fortuin’s bowling.   From then on Kovsies never recovered.

The Kovsies’ top order experienced all sorts of problems when three wickets fell in quick succession with Erasmus, Lubbe and Kobus Coertse’s bowling.

Pukke got the rest of the batsmen with ease and Kovsies were all out for 127 runs, winning by 55 runs.


NWU Pukke: 188/9 (R Kruger 50, W Lubbe 39; J van Dyk 3/45, K Rafferty 2/26)

UFS Kovsies: 127 all out (C Dry 29, A Muller 20; Du Plooy 2/12, Fortuin 2/31)


NWU Pukke: Marques Ackerman, Rohan Kruger (captain), Armandt Erasmus, Dewald Joubert, Bjorn Fortuin, Kobus Coertse, Henning du Plooy, Jovaun van Wyngaardt, Wihan Lubbe, Wimpie Viljoen, Kagiso Rapulana.

UFS Kovsies: Andries Gous, Corne Dry, Sinebhongo Ntshona, Leus Du Plooy, Dirk Bruwer, Keagan Rafferty, Johannes Van Dyk, Jacobus Dreyer, Mathys Bruwer (captain), Anton Muller, Samphiwa Ludidi.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply